If you intend to transfer ownership of iodyne storage to another person or organization, or to complete a project where you are required to ensure all project data is permanently deleted – by company policy or law – you can use our Secure Erase feature to quickly wipe your device, and reset it for re-provisioning. First, a little background to explain how we’re able to achieve this through encryption keys.
Pro Data
To Secure Erase Pro Data, perform these steps:
- Reset Pro Data into Firmware Recovery mode by following the instructions in Pro Data Firmware Recovery Mode or the process shown in the video above.
- Open iodyne Utility, and select Erase Device… from the Devices submenu for the intended device.
- Confirm erasure of the device in the dialog prompt by providing the device password and checking the confirmation checkbox before clicking Secure Erase.
Once the procedure is complete, iodyne Utility will notify you with a confirmation dialog.
You may now repurpose the device or transfer ownership, safe in the knowledge that all data has been irretrievably wiped from your Pro Mini.
Pro Mini
The procedure to Secure Erase Pro Mini is similar to the one above, however Firmware Recovery mode is not required, and it will differ slightly depending on its configuration.
-
If your device is assigned to a project in iodyne Cloud, remove it from the project before proceeding.
Mouse over the device’s row to reveal the remove (circle-minus) icon -
Launch iodyne Utility, and select Erase Device… from the Devices submenu for the intended device.
- Confirm erasure of the device in the dialog prompt by checking the confirmation checkbox before clicking Secure Erase. Note: Depending on the Pro Mini device’s configuration, you may also need to provide the device password if you are in Secure mode, or the device recovery code if you aren't connected to the Internet and signed in to iodyne Cloud (see below).
Retrieving Device Recovery Codes From iodyne Cloud
In Managed mode when you are signed in to iodyne Cloud and connected to the internet, iodyne Utility polls iodyne Cloud for the Device Recovery Code and populates the Secure Erase dialog with this information. If, however, these conditions cannot be met, you may retrieve the code for your device through the following procedure:
- Log in to iodyne Cloud and navigate to your device's Status tab, where the Recovery Code may be revealed
- Clicking on Reveal spawns a dialog with the code. Click the icon to copy this code to your clipboard, and paste it into the Secure Erase dialog in iodyne Utility, above
Once the Secure Erase procedure is complete, iodyne Utility will notify you with a confirmation dialog.
You may now repurpose the device or transfer ownership, safe in the knowledge that all data has been irretrievably wiped from your Pro Mini.